Empowering EdTech Entrepreneurs

Together we are designing the future of education with a a thriving Startup-Ecosystem for innvoative solutions to Education Technology.

An initiative of:
Funded by:

EdTech Next

Our mission

With the initiative EdTect Next – funded by the Ministry of Economics, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy, State of North Rhine-Westphalia – Founders Foundation and EDUvation are supporting founders to set up technological Startups in the education market and to develop a hotbed for sustainable innovations, bringing pioneers and doers together through a thriving and internationally connected ecosystem of EdTech innovation out of Bielefeld. Together, we are working towards developing the educational landscape into a success factor for Germany as a sustainable and internationally competitive business destination.

Current challenges and future solutions

Technological and social changes, above all digital transformation pose immense challenges to the current education market, – both in the public as well as the private sector – not only regarding the manner in the transfer and acquisition of knowledge in the the education system, but also in terms of employee training and development in companies. The change is strongly driven by the needs of the new user for digital teaching and learning solutions, which was clearly brought to light by the pandemic. Cross-industry technological trends such as artificial intelligence, Big Data analytics, blockchain, cloud applications, cyber security, software platforms and VR/AR show just how diverse the chances at innovation can be.

In this dynamic, visionary founders and Startups, with their unconventional approaches and rapid developments in innovative technologies, products and new business models play a decisive role in the digital transformation of education. Founders must be supported and integrated into a living ecosystem to accomplish a hotbed for sustainable and successful innovations. To this end, the Founders Foundation – with its expertise in building early-stage Startups and ecosystems – is developing targeted Startup programs and formats through EdTech Next and is building a vibrant, sustainable and internationally interconnected education technology ecosystem together with EDUvation, as a founding member of the European EdTech Alliance and an expert in the education field. This should enable all key players in the education sector to be closely connected with eachother, exchange their knowledge and ideas and also develop new approaches together.

The education market as a growth market
The potential for technological developments such as software solutions or tools and also services that support learning or teaching is massive. Even if the market for Education Technology (EdTech) is developing dynamically internationally, there is a dire need for Germany to catch up: The current lack of financing and training opportunities is explicitly inhibiting not only the growth of German Startups in the education sector, but also the competitiveness of the German economy. In terms of the current volume of investment, the education market falls sharply behind: So far, only 1% of growth capital in Germany has been invested in EdTech Startups. Before the pandemic began, there were 92 EdTech Startups in Germany, only 13 of them in NRW. In international comparison, despite positive developments, Germany lags behind ecosystems such as London, which is considered to be the stronghold of European EdTech with around 520 Startups. The EdTech Next initiative contributes to bridge this gap by promoting the development and interconnectedness of innovative solutions, new business models and products for the public education sector and the private economy.

EDUvation & Founders Foundation

The perfect
match

With EdTech Next, the consortium partners EDUvation and Founders Foundation combine their expertise and their network in the development of successful Startups and ecosystems with the aim to systematically support Startup foundations and innovations in the education market and to create a thriving ecosystem in which pioneers and future-shapers within the international EdTech industry, come together. In this way, digital education will be designed as an elementary success factor for the future competitiveness of Germany, sustainably strengthened from NRW – NRW is becoming Germany’s EdTech hub. The two consortium partners are driving this project in close cooperation together with Startup spirit and know-how, a large network and a deep understanding of education, technology and inception. The joint initiative with its starting date in April 2022 is being funded by the Ministry of Economics, Innovation, Digitization and Energy of the State of North Rhine- Westphalia (MWIDE) in the amount of 3 million euros over a period of 3 years.

Since its inception, the Founders Foundation in Germany has developed a unique training program for entrepreneurial talents and the development of early-stage Startups and ecosystems – initially with a focus on B2B and industrial business models: So far, – depending on the maturity level of their idea – more than 500 founding talents have had a run through the modular Start-up formats with the use of a specially designed education model. Thus, they were systematically prepared for the next steps of their next Start-up. In this way, more than 60 Startup-inceptions were supported, all of whom have now collected over 45 million euros in venture capital investment. The Ostwestfalen- Lippe region has grown from a Startup-desert to a vibrant Startup-ecosystem and already has over 120 Startups today. The Founders Foundation is now using this expertise purposefully to promote early-stage Startups in the education market.

EDUvation is Germany’s largest EdTech Startup community and the only EdTech-focused service provider for founders. It supports young educational companies with a fruitful EdTech landscape consisting of Startups, experts, established companies and tech corporations. Even before the pandemic, it had set up Startup areas at all national and international educational events, such as didacta, LEARNTEC, Frankfurt Book Fair, BETT Show and London EdTech Week. The international commitment and the pan-European cooperation resulted in the founding of the European EdTech Alliance, together with numerous European players, in Bielefeld in 2021.

Our offers

Next Generation EdTech

EdTech N E T Startup Programme

As a pioneer in the development of early-stage Startups and ecosystems, the Founders Foundation supports prospective founders in the education market with the EdTech Next Startup programs in implementing their ideas. The focus of these programs and formats are inspiration, networking, co- founder matching and business incubation.

The talented entrepreneurs benefit from the international mentor network of experienced entrepreneurs and a multidisciplinary team. The Founders Foundation Home in the heart of Bielefeld’s old town serves as a lively meeting point and central place-to-go for the EdTech start-up scene.

EdTech N E T Summit

At the EdTech Next Summit from October 24th to 26th, pioneers and self-starters in the field of education technology from Europe will come together in Bielefeld.

The event offers an inspiring platform for networking between players in the EdTech scene and exchanging views on the latest trends and developments in the industry.

What we stand for

Our conviction

Future-oriented education as success factor for Germany as a location of business

A mindset change in the German educational landscape
When it comes to education, we need a mindset change by recognising technological developments and advanced digitization as an entrepreneurial opportunity to find international collaboration and once again become a pioneer and exporter of excellently trained talent.
An innovation ecosystem as a hotbed for entrepreneurship
With EdTech Next, the Founders Foundation and EDUvation are bringing the pioneers and doers of the education market together by establishing a hotbed for sustainable EdTech Startups out of Bielefeld through a lively and internationally interconnected innovation ecosystem.
Development of early-stage EdTech Startups as innovation drivers
As a pioneer in building early-stage-Startups, the Founders Foundation uses its expertise and track record as a talent factory as well as its high-quality network to train entrepreneurial talent and support them in the inception of EdTech Startups.
Digital transformation of future tasks through upskilling
For future economic success, established companies must train their employees with intelligent solutions for future tasks to futher advance and shape digital transformation.

Empowering EdTech Entrepreneurs

Gemeinsam gestalten wir die Zukunft der Bildung mit einem lebendigen Startup-Ökosystem für innovative Education Technology Lösungen.

Eine Initiative von:
Gefördert durch:

EdTech Next

Unsere gemeinsame Mission

Mit der Initiative EdTech Next unterstützen die Founders Foundation und die EDUvation, gefördert durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MWIDE), Gründer:innen beim Aufbau technologischer Startups im Bildungsmarkt, und entwickeln als Nährboden für nachhaltige Innovationen ein lebendiges und international vernetztes EdTech Innovations-Ökosystem aus Bielefeld heraus, das Vordenker:innen und Macher:innen des Bildungsmarktes zusammenbringt. Gemeinsam arbeiten wir daran, die Bildungslandschaft in Deutschland als Erfolgsfaktor für den Wirtschaftsstandort zukunftsfähig und international wettbewerbsfähig zu machen.
Herausforderungen der Gegenwart & Lösungen für die Zukunft

Der technologische und gesellschaftliche Wandel, allen voran die digitale Transformation, stellt den bisherigen Bildungsmarkt, sowohl im öffentlichen als auch privaten Sektor, vor immense Herausforderungen, nicht nur, was die Art der Wissensvermittlung und -aufnahme im Bildungswesen, sondern auch die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Mitarbeiter:innen in Unternehmen betrifft. Der Wandel ist stark getrieben durch neue Nutzer:innenbedarfe an digitalen Lehr- und Lernlösungen, was zuletzt durch die Pandemie deutlich sichtbar wurde. Branchenübergreifende Technologietrends wie Künstlicher Intelligenz, Big Data Analytics, Blockchain, Cloud-Anwendungen, Cyber Security, Software Plattformen und VR/AR zeigen, wie vielfältig Innovationschancen aussehen können.

In dieser Dynamik übernehmen visionäre Gründer:innen und Startups mit ihren unkonventionellen Ansätzen und ihrer hohen Geschwindigkeit bei der Entwicklung innovativer Technologien, Produkte und neuer Geschäftsmodelle eine entscheidende Rolle für die digitale Transformation von Bildung. Um den Nährboden für nachhaltige und erfolgreiche Innovationen zu schaffen, müssen Gründer:innen unterstützt und in ein lebendiges Ökosystem integriert werden. Dafür entwickelt die Founders Foundation mit ihrer Expertise im Aufbau von Frühphasen-Startups und Ökosystemen mit EdTech Next gezielte Startup-Programme und Formate und baut gemeinsam mit der EDUvation, als Gründungsmitglied der European EdTech Alliance und Expertin im Bildungsbereich, ein lebendiges, nachhaltiges und international vernetztes Education-Technology Ökosystem auf. So sollen die Akteur:innen des Bildungssektors eng vernetzt, Wissen und Ideen ausgetauscht und gemeinsam neue Ansätze entwickelt werden.

Der Bildungsmarkt als Wachstumsmarkt
Das Potenzial für technologische Entwicklungen wie Softwarelösungen oder Tools und auch Dienstleistungen, die das Lernen oder Lehren unterstützen, ist riesig. Auch wenn sich der Markt für Education Technology (EdTech) international dynamisch entwickelt, besteht in Deutschland zwingend Nachholbedarf: So hemmen aktuell fehlende Finanzierungs- und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten nicht nur explizit das Wachstum deutscher Startups aus dem Bildungsbereich, sondern dadurch auch die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Wirtschaft. Gemessen am aktuellen Investitionsvolumen fällt der Bildungsmarkt stark ab: Lediglich 1% des Wachstumskapitals in Deutschland ist bisher in EdTech-Startups investiert worden. Vor Beginn der Pandemie gab es in Deutschland 92 Edtech Startups, davon nur 13 in NRW. Damit bleibt Deutschland trotz positiver Entwicklungen im internationalen Vergleich hinter Ökosystemen wie London, das mit rund 520 Startups als die europäische Education-Tech-Hochburg gilt, zurück. Die Initiative EdTech Next trägt ab jetzt dazu bei, diese Lücke zu schließen und fördert den Aufbau und die Vernetzung innovativer Lösungen, neuer Geschäftsmodelle und Produkte für den öffentlichen Bildungssektor und für die Privatwirtschaft.

EDUvation & Founders Foundation

The perfect
match

Mit EdTech Next vereinen die Konsortialpartnerinnen EDUvation und Founders Foundation ihre Expertise und ihr Netzwerk im Aufbau erfolgreicher Startups und Ökosysteme mit dem Ziel, Startup-Gründungen und Innovationen im Bildungsmarkt systematisch zu unterstützen und ein lebendiges Ökosystem zu schaffen, in dem Vordenker:innen und Zukunftsgestalter:innen der internationalen EdTech Branche zusammen kommen. So wird die digitale Bildung als elemantarer Erfolgsfaktor für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Deutschland für die Zukunft gestaltet und aus NRW heraus nachhaltig gestärkt – NRW wird zum EdTech Hub Deutschlands. Dieses Vorhaben treiben die beiden Konsortialpartnerinnen mit Startup Spirit und Know How, einem großen Netzwerk und einem tiefen Verständnis für Bildung, Technologie und Gründung in enger Kooperation zusammen voran. Die gemeinsame Initiative mit Projektstart im April 2022 wird durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MWIDE) in Höhe von 3 Millionen Euro über eine Laufzeit von 3 Jahren gefördert.

Seit ihrer Gründung hat die Founders Foundation eine in Deutschland einmalige Ausbildung für unternehmerische Talente und den Aufbau von Frühphasen-Startups und -Ökosystemen entwickelt – zunächst mit Fokus auf B2B- und Industrie-Geschäftsmodelle: Über 500 Gründungs-Talente durchliefen je nach Reifegrad ihrer Idee bisher die modularen Startup-Formate und wurden so anhand des eigens konzipierten Education Model systematisch für ihre nächsten Gründungsschritte vorbereitet. Über 60 Startup-Gründungen wurden so unterstützt, die mittlerweile über 45 Millionen Euro Venture Capital Investment eingesammelt haben. Die Region Ostwestfalen-Lippe ist von einer Startup-Wüste zu einem lebendigen Startup-Ökosystem gewachsen und zählt heute bereits über 120 Startups. Diese Expertise wendet die Founders Foundation jetzt gezielt für den Aufbau von Frühphasen-Startups im Bildungsmarkt an.
Die EDUvation ist Deutschlands größte EdTech-Startup Community und einzige EdTech-fokussierte Dienstleisterin für Gründer:innen. Sie unterstützt junge Bildungsunternehmen mit einer fruchtbaren EdTech-Landschaft bestehend aus Startups, Expert:innen, etablierten Unternehmen und Tech-Konzernen. Bereits vor der Pandemie hat sie dazu Startup-Flächen auf sämtlichen nationalen und internationalen Bildungsevents ausgerichtet, wie beispielsweise der didacta, der LEARNTEC, der Frankfurter Buchmesse, als auch der BETT Show und der London EdTech Week. Das internationale Engagement und die pan-europäische Zusammenarbeit mündeten 2021 in der Gründung der European EdTech Alliance in Bielefeld gemeinsam mit zahlreichen europäischen Akteur:innen.
Unsere Angebote

Next Generation EdTech

EdTech N E T  Startup Programme

Als Vorreiter im Aufbau von Frühphasen-Startups und -Ökosystemen unterstützt die Founders Foundation mit den EdTech Next Startup-Programmen gezielt angehende Gründer:innen im Bildungsmarkt bei der Umsetzung ihrer Idee. Inspiration, Networking, Co-Founder Matching und Business Incubation stehen im Mittelpunkt der Programme und Formate.
Dabei profitieren die Gründungstalente von dem internationalen Mentor:innen-Netzwerk aus erfahrenen Unternehmer:innen und einem multidisziplinären Team. Das Founders Foundation Home im Herzen der Bielefelder Altstadt dient dabei als lebhafter Treffpunkt und zentrale Anlaufstelle der EdTech Gründerszene.

EdTech N E T  Summit 

Beim EdTech Next Summit vom 24. bis 26. Oktober kommen Vordenker:innen und Macher:innen aus Europa im Bereich Education Technology in Bielefeld zusammen.

Die Veranstaltung bietet eine inspirierende Plattform für die Vernetzung der Akteur:innen in der EdTech Szene und zum Austausch über die neuesten Trends und Entwicklungen der Branche.
Wöfür wir stehen

Unsere Überzeugung

Eine zukunftsorientierte Bildung als Erfolgsfaktor für den Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland
Ein Mindset Change in der deutschen Bildungslandschaft
Wir brauchen einen Mindset Change beim Thema Bildung, indem wir technologische Entwicklungen und eine fortschreitende Digitalisierung als unternehmerische Chance begreifen, um den internationalen Schulterschluss zu finden und wieder Vorreiter und Exporteur hervorragend ausgebildeter Talente zu werden.
Ein Innovations-Ökosystem als Nährboden für Unternehmertum
Mit EdTech Next bauen die Founders Foundation und EDUvation als Nährboden für nachhaltige EdTech Startup-Gründungen aus Bielefeld heraus ein lebendiges und international vernetztes Innovations-Ökosystem auf, und bringen so die Vordenker:innen und Macher:innen des Bildungsmarktes zusammen.
Aufbau von Frühphasen EdTech-Startups als Innovationstreiber
Als Vorreiter im Aufbau von Frühphasen-Startups nutzt die Founders Foundation ihre Expertise und ihren Track Record als Talentschmiede sowie ihr hochkarätiges Netzwerk, um unternehmerische Talente auszubilden und sie bei der Gründung von EdTech-Startups zu unterstützen.
Digitale Transformation durch Upskilling für die Aufgaben der Zukunft
Für zukünftigen wirtschaftlichen Erfolg müssen etablierte Unternehmen ihre Mitarbeiter:innen mit intelligenten Lösungen für die Aufgaben der Zukunft weiterbilden, damit diese die Digitale Transformation weiter vorantreiben und gestalten können.